When Life Gets In The Way

When I think about writing this blog, I’m constantly thinking of new topics to talk about and to share. Because I am pretty creative, I can think of cutesy things to cover, the latest awesome mechanical pencil that has changed the game for me with sketching, new stuff from my latest haul.  All of that is a part of what we do as artists and as art journalers.  But I don’t feel like writing about that.  I want to write the truth.

The truth is I am exhausted.  This time last year I was on fire artistically, now I’m not. Instead of doing one course at a time I have taken on four, and can barely keep up with the lessons.  I struggle to finish pieces, leaving many to the WIP pile.  Like many of you, I work a full-time job (I work with high school kids), so when I get home all I can think about is my fattening cup of tea, toast and peanut butter, and watching talk show people gossip while I disappear under my blankie.  I purposely have something arty near me, on the off-chance that I might get struck by the art fairy and finally put a brush to the mess I’ve made.

I know this is a part of the journey.  At least that is what I hear from my art peeps.  They struggle too.  It sucks to be here.

I am wanting to believe that this is a time when something is trying to be born.  Give myself a break from saying to myself that what I am producing is crap and is not post or sale worthy.  But I post anyway…selling?  I’m not touching that one.

What do you do to get yourself out of the creative funk?  I’d love to know!

2016-01-04 13.32.28

 

One thought on “When Life Gets In The Way

  1. Maddie says:

    Girl I will usually contact you, chat for a while and something we talked about will be enough to jumpstart my mind. Other times I will spend some time culling out my magazine stash. When all else fails, I will rework an older piece and make it new.

    Like

Leave a Reply

