On Being Perfect

2016-01-24 09.46.13

I am notorious in my perfectionism.  Perfection has prevented me from doing this blog for almost a year. I signed up for one months ago, and took even longer to come up with a name which by the way, my first name choice did not get the best response from my kids or from a dear artist friend of mine (y’all hear that???) It’s not like I have never blogged before, because I have, so how difficult could it be? I see people creating blogs everyday, without drama.

But of course, before I allow anyone to see it, to see me, it has to be perfect.

The title has to be perfect. The artwork has to be perfect. The topics have to be on point.  Yea, all of that ish serves to distract from what’s really going on.

This is about vulnerability.  Bearing a little bit of my soul onto these pages.  Bearing a lot at times.  What I do, and what most of us do when we create art.  When we dare to share a piece of ourselves to others, on Facebook, in our art communities and anywhere else.

Love this woman:

To claim the truths about who we are, where we come from, what we believe, and the very imperfect nature of our lives, we have to be willing to give ourselves a break and appreciate the beauty of our cracks or imperfections. To be kinder and gentler with ourselves and each other. To talk to ourselves the same way we’d talk to someone we care about.     -Brene Brown, from Daring Greatly

So here I am, sick as a dog, daring to finally put this thing out there.  Because like you, I have a story.  I have several stories.  Many will come through my art.  Some will come through just sharing.  However it comes, I want to live my days without regret that I sat on my courage until she could not be contained anymore.  Our journeys may be different and intersect in many ways, but what I do know is that we are all better for the times when we dare greatly to share a piece of ourselves for others to witness, and for the joy in being seen.

By the way, when I made up another possible crazy ass title off the top of my head, my artist friend loved it!  What was the title?

ALL THAT AND A BAG OF CHIPS

Really girl? Really? 🙂

Can’t wait to share more with you. Feel free to comment and share!

One thought on “On Being Perfect

Leave a Reply

